I Saw…

I saw a dog walking his lady and a lady walking her man.

I saw a cat on a leash, scowling at a dog in a sweater.

I saw failure usher in humility.

I saw a lost soul sleeping on the street, a smart phone clutched tightly in his fist.

I saw Santa driving an SUV.

I saw her swallow a spoonful of dissent. Then anger and bitterness swallowed her whole.

I saw every Christmas wish fulfilled…in my dream

I saw every Christmas memory flash before my eyes that night,  in that living room. The lights twinkled and glowed red and green. The vibration of the cello strings struck a primal cord deep inside.  I felt love…and loss, so deep it hurt.

Leave a Reply

