Fugitive

1fu·gi·tive –  running away or intending flight. Being of transient interest.

“I’m harboring a fugitive, a defector of a kind. She lives in my soul, drinks of my wine and I’d give my last breath to keep us alive..” from Fugitive by The Indigo Girls

What would it look like if I freed the fugitive inside me?  What would your freedom look like?

Despite the feelings of those closest to me, my freedom would not mean joblessness, he he.  But, it would mean ‘following my bliss’.   Camera in hand,  I would cross borders [human & geographical]. There would be no dread felt for Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday or Friday. It’s interesting that I feel like a slave to something larger than me.  Rumi, [poet] says,  “Why do you stay in prison when the door is wide open?” Um, because?, uhhhh, yeah…because Rumi…sir.  High five to me!  What a comeback.

I’m being sarcastic of course.  There are reasons.  There are bills to pay and adult responsibilities.  And, those are a result of choices I have made in life.  I am blessed beyond belief with a home and a true love.  We have loving friends and a good life.   This is the circle dance I do.  Hope, wish and dream of freedom (from exactly what I can’t quite define) and regret for the things I feel I can’t do.  Such a dilemma!

“…i stood
without clothes danced in the sand i was aching with freedom kissing the damned i said remember this is how it should be.” from Fugitive by The Indigo Girls

Well, I’ll stop thinking out loud now and leave you with a a freedom photo

2 thoughts on “Fugitive

Leave a Reply

