Let it always be known…

“let it always be known that I was who I am”

from “Rambling Man” by Laura Marling


“I am not my hair..” India Arie


…Another rainy day in Oregon.  I saw my hair in little piles on the concrete floor of Rudy’s Barbershop.  I asked the  dude to use clippers and  shave it down.  I’m not bald and my scalp is not visible but this is as close to a buzz cut as I could get. Why?  Because I  can.  Because ‘I am not my hair’.  Because it’s liberating.  Because it’s easy.  And, because at  this  time, it is ME.

On the way home, Ryan Adams & The Cardinals played on my iPod. Blue Hotel is such a perfect, rainy day song.  Pure  perfection.


One thought on “Let it always be known…

Leave a Reply

