Rat Race

Today I saw a red lady on a pink bike.

On the train ride home, I sat next to a man wearing a newsboy cap and little round glasses.  He was clutching a book bag to his chest and reading a pocket sized version of the United States Constitution.  Under my feet were discarded orange peels and yesterday’s news.  As we shot through the tunnel under Washington park, I closed my eyes and tried to block out the loud  chatter of a few teenage girls suffering from the delusion that we all wanted to hear their business.  I’m so glad the rat race is over for this week.

Leave a Reply

